Forum

Please note that you can subscribe to the individual forums. A subscription for news only covers the news.

Can't start the app...

Notifications
Clear all

Can't start the application. Error on start up attempt

10 Posts
2 Users
1 Likes
Topic starter

Hi there!

When I try to open the application I recieve the following error.

Topic Tags
bug
10 Answers

Something is wrong with your status file, vm3stat.vms. If you are not running a script for real, then just delete the file and you will start on a fresh.

If you have been running the script for some time, you should have backup called vm3stat.vms.bak. Rename vm3stat.vms  to something else and the rename vm3stat.vms.bak to vm3stat.vms. This will set you back to last successful start of VM, but you will not have lost everything.

Sven

Topic starter

Hey, thanks for the answer!

Just to clarify, I recieved this error after a fresh download of the application, and selected the demo file to start with. I have never used it before.

I added the files as I have them on my pc currently as attachment

That's what I expected. There must be a file called vm3stat in the same folder as the program. Delete that file, and you should be able to start again. Somehow, it must have been corrupted.

Did you extract the files from the zip file? Windows can open a zip file as if it is a folder. If you tried to start the program from within a zip file, it will give problems.

Sven

Topic starter

I added a screenshot of the folder to my previous post to indeed make sure there isn't anything in there i'm just to blind to see. The screenshot contains everything that is currently in the folder. As I have never used the program before, there is no vm3stat as of yet. The state of the folder is exactly how I extracted it from the zip file.

And as you can probably make out from it as well, I have extracted the zip file to my Downloads folder and am attempting to run it from there.

Strange! I have never seen this before.